Blogs As Thought Organizers

Kim Pallister has a very interesting blog, and he’s put up a post on his five year anniversary.

That post is worth reading in general, but it has a particular interesting idea in it. He proposes that his blog is valuable to him in part because it forces him to think through a position on a topic and make sure he presents a full argument. He has to see both sides of things and make sure that he’s addressing them. That’s a very interesting analysis of the personal value of blogging, and it made me stop and think about how I post. When I look back at some of my posts, I don’t think I’m doing that which is a shame. For example, my last post was about how I think stereoscopic 3D would fail at least in the short term. There are many more reasons for my position than the few I put in the post, but I didn’t take the time to sort my thoughts out fully. As a result, I have something fairly incoherent sitting on my blog as one of my highest traffic items.  I guess people are looking for stories about 3D tech post-CES.

Kim goes on to say that blogging is even more important because of the relationship it fosters with other folks. I don’t want to discount that by not talking about it, but it didn’t have as much impact on me. It seems the more obvious point. Blogs are conversations, and I joined the conversation to talk with people and forge relationships.

Regardless of which reason resonates with you, click the link and read his post.

dba

One Response to “Blogs As Thought Organizers”

  1. Thanks for the kind words.

    I had a conversation with a friend about the whole idea of using your blog as a place to force you to think through your position on things, etc. In that conversation, he referred to this as writing for an audience of yourself, to which he added:

    “If you are writing for an audience of one, and that one is yourself, then it’s a pretty sure thing that you’re going to hit your target goal” 🙂

Leave a Reply

