3D: Still Fail

3D TV for homes is one of the big things getting pushed in 2010. I’ve always been a skeptic of stereoscopic 3D. It feels like a gimmick to me, and I don’t see uptake in homes. Here’s an article outlining some challenges. On top of that, however, I think the sheer dorkiness of sitting around with the glasses on is a factor. To prove it, check out me looking like a dork.

Dan in 3D Glasses

To drive that point home, I’d like to point to the pointlessness that was Sony’s press event at CES. Check out Engadget’s live blog for these choice quotes which I’ve chosen to make fun of. I”ve left timestamps in place to make it easier for you to find context.

  • “5:18PM Sir Howard: “I’d forgotten I was wearing 3D glasses! That’s a good sign, isn’t it?”” – No, that implies that they aren’t doing much.
  • “4:30PM The projected 3D isn’t actually all that great — it’s nice, but it’s not worth wearing silly glasses for. Particularly when the real Taylor Swift is right in front of you. The sparkles on her guitar do “pop,” though.” – Behold sheer idiocy. Projecting 3D video during a live performance. Of a person. In 3D. Our friends at Engadget clearly get the silliness.
  • “4:23PM Sir Howard Stringer taking the stage. He is in 3D. “I bet you think you all look really cool with those glasses on, don’t you.”” – It’s such a cool technology, that Sony will make fun of it whilst trying to sell it to you.
  • “5:26PM To recap: Sony not only thinks you’ll wear the glasses, but that you’ll go out and buy them as an add-on kit for your TV, along with a transmitter. That sounds workable.” – Close with a little sarcasm!
For now, I’ll be moderate and agree with the first article. We’ll have 3D eventually, but it’s not happening this year which means I can be cool a bit longer. In secret, I really wish all this would disappear. It feels like a silly gimmick, and I can go outside if I want 3D.
dba
One Response to “3D: Still Fail”

  1. […] that I don’t think 3D is a particularly good idea. I’ve previously remarked about the goofy glasses. Imagine my lack of surprise when I saw over on CNN that Samsung had issued this […]

Leave a Reply

