Christmas Gag Gift

Another delay in posting. 😦

This time I blame viruses. I got a cold, and my computer got a rootkit. Good times.

My friend and colleague, Shaun Kime, put up a post about a tradition at our company where we exchange gag gifts. Each person draws a name out of the hat, and the goal is to make a personalized gift that makes light of some facet of that person.

This year, someone decided to make fun of the fact that I think Earth Defense Force 2017 is one of the best games you can own for Xbox 360. To be clear, it’s not the bad animations, choppy frame rate, object interpenetrations, or lack of online co-op that make this game great. It’s the simplicity of the game design and the overall campy feel that make this game a must-own. I love this game, and I’ve played through it many times. If I had the money, I’d bankroll a sequel tomorrow.

Since I can’t do that, someone decided to give me a sequel in the form of Earth Defense Force: The Board Game. Here’s some pics.


First off, take a gander at the top down view. The game comes with a player character, NPCs, enemies, and upgrades. Notice that the board game upgrades on the video game by adding cockroaches!


Here’s a perspective view of things. It really gives you the same feeling as when you play the game.


The board game also includes a fully destructible building. Much like the video game, these buildings crumble at the slightest impact. i.e., I assembled the building, and it fell apart when I closed my office door one day.


Finally, for those who have played the game, the Air Tortoise missle system. It’s light on the missles, but aficionados of EDF will get the joke.

Overall, this is a really solid gag gift. Whoever made this should give themselves a pat on the back.

EDF! EDF! EDF! dba

One Response to “Christmas Gag Gift”

  1. […] Earth Defense Force 2017. In fact, someone made me a gag gift that is the board game version. In the post describing that, I promised to personally finance a sequel if need be. Well, it need not be. It’s just a […]

Leave a Reply

