Bad Day Selling a House

My house is on the market, and I think I’m doing a good job selling it. As part of that, I decided to get the AC checked out today. It’s unfortunately bad when the technician sees your unit and says, “Man, I wish I had a camera. I’ve never seen one this old.” It only goes downhill from there.

Now, I expected to have a few problems. I knew the unit was old when I bought the house. However, I wasn’t aware that it was 25 years old… at a minimum. (For those not in the know, the lifetime of an AC unit is 12 to 17 years.) Let’s list the bad news from today.

  • The air filter is under the house.
  • Since I thought there was no filter in this old unit, my air filter was 3 years old and mad dirty.
  • The condenser pump is dead causing water to pool under the house and grow mold.
  • My flue pipe rusted out, and exhaust from the gas furnace is venting under the house. This is know as a carbon monoxide hazard.

I guess I have to fix that stuff now. Luckily, I just have to crawl under the house with a new filter and pay about $500 for those repairs. Let’s all hope together that the actual AC unit doesn’t die. Apparently those cost about $5K which was news to me. In my mind, it was about $2,500.

Instant inflation. Mmmm.

dba

One Response to “Bad Day Selling a House”

  1. Signal to noise man.. 😉 (yes, I know that’ll come back to me.)

Leave a Reply

